VIA Arts Prize

The VIA Arts Prize is the UK’s only Ibero-American themed visual arts competition, inviting artists to submit original works inspired by Latin American, Spanish and Portuguese arts and cultures. It is hosted annually at the Embassy of Brazil in London, in partnership with ACALASP (the Association of Cultural Attachés of Latin America, Spain and Portugal), supported by Instituto Cervantes and People’s Palace Projects, and sponsored by Itaú.

The VIA Arts Prize 2019 Selected Artists’ Exhibition has come to an end.

30 selected artworks from the 2019 Call for Entries were on display alongside 2018 VIA Arts Prize winner Hugo Brazão’s solo exhibition ‘Best Foot Backward’ at the Embassy of Brazil in London, between 14th November and 11th December.

This year’s 30 selected artists were

Alejandro Pascual                        John Forster
Alexandre Canonico                   José Oliva
Alexi Marshall                                Kevin Chester
Andreia Afonso                             Leo Cullen and Maria Cardenas
Andrew Prior                                 Linda Zagidulina
Antonio Tarsis                               Luciana Bohm
Audrey Roger                                Lucia Pizzani 
Carlos Cortes                                Patricia Tavares
Claudia Legge                               Rachael & Simon
Estabrak                                          Sara Lopes
Federico Redin                             Silvia Lerin
Francisco Garcia                          Susana Uvidia
Frederick Clark                             Teresa Boulting
Giselle Jones                                 Thais Rocha
Hugo Lami                                      Yann Brien

The 2019 winner of the VIA Arts Prize was Antonio Tarsis, with his multicoloured collage ‘Coloured Exports’.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The second prize winner was Alexandre Canonico with his sculpture ‘3 Stops, White Board and Strap’.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The jury’s special commendation went to Estabrak for her photograph ‘Viver’.

Please see the press release for further information.

The Prize is generously sponsored by Itaú, and the 1st and 2nd prize winners receive £5,000 and £2,000 respectively. The prize winners were chosen by a prestigious jury panel:

  • Andrea Harari, Director of jaggedart
  • Fernando Casasempere, sculptor
  • Frances Reynolds, Patron of Arts
  • James Nicholls, Chairman of Maddox Gallery Group
  • Dr Sarah Demelo, Art Historian Curator of the Essex Collection of Art from Latin America
  • Sofia Fan, Manager of Visual Arts at Itaú Cultural
  • Vanessa Carlos, Director of the Carlos/Ishikawa Gallery

This year’s winner of the People’s Choice Award was José García Oliva.

Keep an eye on our website and social media channels (Instagram, Facebook and Twitter) for updates about the VIA Arts Prize 2020!